Dare To Dream

Happy sunday, everyone! I hope you have had a marvelous weekend and I am here with a lovely life post to finish off the week. 

Recently, our grade had to go through the process of picking what courses we wanted to take for next year. This is tougher than you might think, because the courses that I take next year, affect what courses I will be able to take the year after that, and then those courses will affect where I will be able to go and what I can do after that. To summarize, picking courses is a big deal and can be streesful. It forces you to really think about that dreaded question: “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Personally, I don’t really know what I wanna be when I grow up. I know that I really love animals and the environment. Also, that I might possibly wanna go into Earth Sciences, but have no clue what I would specifically do in that field. But one thing that is becoming more certain, the more I think about it, is that I want to leave home to go to university. 

It is a huge decision, and a little scary but seems to feel more and more right as time goes on. The only problem is, that college, university, whatever is really expensive. Not to mention that if you leave home, you also have to pay to stay in residence or for a apartment of your own on top of tuition. My parents have already made it clear that they have no money saved to help me, and that I am basically on my own. This makes it even harder. I recently brought up to my mom the possiblity of me going away for college/university. When I did, lets just say she did not accept the idea with open arms. In fact, she doesn’t believe I can do it, at all. 

At first, this kinda hurt. I kept asking myself, ‘Are your expectations too high?”, ‘Can you do this?’, ‘Should you go away?’. But then this weekend, I was watching Dinner for Schmucks with Paul Rudd and Steve Carell. There was this one part at the end, where Barry was doing his presentation at the dinner for everyone and he was talking about people who dreamed of great things. Other people would tell them they couldn’t accomplish their dreams and they would just say “Yes, I can.” People like Vincent Van Gogh. And then they would go off to do great things. At the end of his presentation, Steve Carell as Barry said this: “ So dare to dream. Dream your wildest dreams…. And if somebody tells you that you can’t do something, you say, ‘Yes, I can. ‘Cause I’m doing it right now!” 

This quote really struck a chord with me. It helped me to realize that I can do anything I wanna do in life, regardless of people who tell me otherwise or try to drag me down. I can go away for university. I can become a great earth scientist. I can do great things. And you can too. And if someone tries to tell you otherwise, just lift your head high and say, “Yes, I can. Cause I’m doing it right now.” 

If you have any questions or comments, leave them in the comments! How are you going to chase after your dreams this week? What do you dream of doing or becoming in the future? I would LOVE to hear about it in the comments.

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life.

2 thoughts on “Dare To Dream

Leave a Reply

