To Speak or Not To Speak, That is The Question

Hey everybody! I hope y’all had a fabulous week and I apologize about not posting anything in the past couple days. I have been quite busy but this week is march break so I will be free to post things on a daily basis!! Yay 🎊🎉👏❤️🎈😊👍 Today I am coming at you with another one of my Sunday Life Posts!

So for awhile now, I have had to say something kind of hard to say to someone close to me. If that makes sense. It is not exactly an easy topic and I have been struggling for a few weeks now about whether to even say anything at all! I was receiving a lot of pressure from other people to say something to this person, on top of my own internal struggle of what the right thing to do was. I didn’t have to say this thing to this person but other people have been really wanting me to. Mainly, my internal struggle was between the part of me that wants to and the part of me that doesn’t think this is the right time. 

Anyways, this weekend, I was given litterally the perfect opportunity to say something to this person if I decided to. And all of Friday and Saturday leading up to it, I had basically made the decision to just do it and was preparing myself for it. I spent all day just rehearsing what I was going to say and thinking about how the person might react. I would be fine for awhile, then get those nervous butterflies in my stomach, then resolve that it would be fine, then start freaking out a little again. This only worsened as I got closer to my open window. 

Finally, the opportunity came around. I spent the entire time just waiting for some sort of sign that it was a good time, that I should just do it now. Waiting for the words to just come out of me. Near the end of my window of opportunity , a song came on the radio. It was ‘One thing’ By Eleven Fingers and the main part of it that stood out to me was the Chorus. It talked about trading something for one thing. (shocker, i know) And it kinda go tme thinking about the decision I was making by deciding to say something to this person or not. Whether it was worth saying at all, at least now.

At the end of the day, I didn’t say anything to the person. At least for now. Hearing the song and thinking it about it now, made me see that I really hadn’t thought alot about what I would be really doing by saying something to this person and that it probably wasn’t right thing to do at this point. 

This all taught me that before you speak, you think. You have probably heard this alot and didn’t think much about it, but it is really important. The things that you say and do have the power to really affect your life and the lives of those around you. Especially when you are thinking about saying something really important, big and kinda hard to talk about. It can come out wrong, or any number of things. So before you say anything, think hard about what you are saying and how it might be perceived. 

At the end of the day, I’m glad I didn’t say anything. One day, I will. When all the stars align and I know exactly what to say. But for now, I’m content knowing I did the right thing even if it means waiting alot longer. And it is ok to wait. And think on it. There is not such thing as a perfect time, (this I am learning, I thought this weekend was the perfect time. Turns out it wasn’t) so at the end of the day, you might just be grateful for it. Although you should never be afraid to say how you feel, and get something out that NEEDS to be said)

So, have you ever been in this situation? How will you begin to think before you say or act this week? If you have any other questions or comments below, I would love to hear them in the comments!

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life.

Leave a Reply

