The Fake Meat Rant

Hey everybody & fellow meat lovers!!! I hope your monday was great and your weekend even better. Today, I come to you with a very important topic, one that is near and dear to my heart: meat. Who doesn’t like a good plate of ribs, chicken, chicken wings, burgers, pork, ham the list goes on.. and cooked on the BBQ….. deliciousness. There is nothing like it in the world. Sadly my friends, there are the fakers. The people who package, wrap, box and freeze pieces of something and call it meat. This is what I want to talk about today.

Once upon a time, around last summer, I was with my father and brother about to have a dinner of chicken wings. Keep in mind my dad buys most things in a box, and makes them from a box and these chicken wings were no exception. And they were the most disgusting, nausea inducing, poor excuse for meat I have ever tasted in my entire existence. REAL meat is juicy, tender, falls off a bone (if there is one), flavourful and delicious. This was not even close to that. It was GRAY, tasteless, the sauce was this sweet syrupy substance, and it tasted so disgusting I can hardly explain to you the extent of this garbage I am sorry to say I consumed. 

That is what I call Fake Meat. Meat that they say is meat but really isn’t. Maybe I am just spoiled and am lucky to have had real meat section meat most of my life. Maybe this stuff was in the freezer for just a tad to long. Maybe it just happened to suck so much. I’m not saying all boxed meat is bad: If you look at the ingredients for Prime meats the first ingredient is chicken. REAL chicken. And it tastes like it too. But this meat was not. Clearly.

I know and realize that yes, it is at times less expensive, more convient and easier to prepare. But stop and think for a second about what you are possibly putting in your body. Look at the ingredients. In the long run, wouldn’t it be better just to buy something that you know is real and has nothing added to it or hasn’t been manipulated and that you know is good for you? Something that you know will taste good? That you can make the way you like it? That is REAL meat?

So the next time you are out grocery shopping deciding between the possibly fake and real meat, I want you to recall the taste of the tender, juicy, flavourful, authentic meat you’ve had in the past, and the boxed stuff you last had. Do you want true, healthly, authenticity or questionable, packaged goods? Again, I know that some boxed brands can be good, but I think we can all agree that the real stuff is better. If you can buy the real stuff, I say go for it! Enjoy it!!

Thank you for listening to my fake meat rant, hope y’all enjoyed it!!

If you have any additional comments, questions or suggestions lemme know in the comments below? What is your favourite kind of meat? How do you make it? Lemme know what those are in the comments below!!

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life. 

2 thoughts on “The Fake Meat Rant

  1. Bunny Eats Design says:

    This is why I avoid buying meat from the supermarket. I bought a pack of what looked like steak but when I got home, I realised it had a long list of ingredients. Meat is best bought from the butcher. The other stuff should be outlawed.

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      Thank you!! I 100% agree, most meats should be bought at your local butcher and then you can be absolutely sure that there won’t be any other additives and that your meat will taste delicious 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

