The Aftermath of To All The Boys I’ve Loved by Jenny Han

Hey Everybody!! So, It has been a long while since I did a book review, and because of my month long hiatus, it has been even LONGER since I have read and reviewed a decent book on this blog. Today, I finished reading To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han. I have been procastinating reading this book for litterally over a year because I was so on the fence, constantly in my mind going back in forth between, Should I read it, I should read it. But what if it is not for me? Or I don’t like it? But I should probably read it because lots of people say it’s good… and so on and on. But I have finally read it!! And it was not horrible, but was it my favourite book… probably not. This book is about, as stated on good ol’ goodreads

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

This book was really cute and fun to read coming of age novel. I have read The Summer I turned pretty trilogy as well by Jenny Han which I throughly enjoyed and reccomend as well. This is actually a duology and the 2nd book is currently out and it is called P.S I Love you. This book though was ok and I would give it maybe 3.5 stars on goodreads and a 77%.

 

BEWARE OF SOME SPOILERS AHEAD************************************************************

*******************************************

**************************

************

******

****  
So start off this book did not rate high on my scale for a couple of reasons. It was justa but misleading and confusing and there was just something about it that made me just kinda go uhhhh I don’t know about this. First of all, I don’t know if it is just me or did is kinda seem like she would end up with Josh??? Like her relationship with Peter, although really sweet and fun to read about and watch develop was kinda random. Like what??? It might have been the concept of the whole letter thing that made me wish that there was a little more confrontation between her and some of the other boys she had written letters to and how in GENERAL that helped her grow and also, brought her closer to Josh in a way. But that just didn’t happen.

Now don’t get me wrong. Her and Peter were super cute and fun. Just how he loved her korean food, his relationship with kitty, the scene with the cupcakes and his jealously when he found out Josh kissed her was just priceless. I loved how they really growed to like each other even though they didn’t at first, it was kinda the highlight of the whole book. I was getting so annoyed with Peter though when he would act so in like with Lara Jean and then the next moment he is spending all that time with Genevieve saying they need each other or whatever like #makeupyourmind. 

Also, Kitty was both very cute and annoying at the same time. She acted quite maturely and smartly at times for her age and I laughed when she got her puppy at the end and named it Jamie Foxx Pickle. And how do you pronounce Margot? The whole book was like I have no clue how this is said in the english language. Is it pronounced as Margo and the t is silent? Or is it pronouced as something like Margaret? Lemme know in the comments below!! And when I read the 2nd book I will make a review of that as soon as possible. 

Finally I would like to take this time to make a quick announcement! This year from August 3rd to 9th, I will be participating in Book tube a thon!! Basically, if you don’t know what that is, it is a youtube book reading marathon, (although you don’t have to be on youtube to participate) where there is a specific set of reading challenges and activities you participate in during that week. I will be doing this this year and will have a post coming up with more details about that but I highly encourage you guys to look into it on the Book Tube-a-thon Youtube Channel whivh has more information and do it along with me!

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed this and lemme know what you thought about this book and some of your favourite parts in the comments! Also, I would love to hear any book suggestions you may have forme to read and review on this blog, which you should also leave below. Thanks again!

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life. 

 

2 thoughts on “The Aftermath of To All The Boys I’ve Loved by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

