Exam Life Tips

Hey Everyone!! It’s that magical time of year again where us Canadian high school students (shout it to all my fellow Canadians), write their first semester exams. And if you are like me, exam time = major stressing + lots of time spent studying and practicing all the things you learnt throughout the semester. So whether you have exams now, 3 months from now, or you already had them, I thought it would be cool to share with you guys some Exam Life Tips to help you make it through the craziness of your exam time. I actually did a post last June with some more exam studying tips, that you can see here: https://alittlebitoflife1.wordpress.com/2015/06/10/exam-studying-tips/ , if you want even MORE great tips & tricks. Let’s get started!!

1. Don’t forget to have some ‘Me Time’
This year I have really realized how important it is to still make time for yourself during exam time. Whether it be by catching up on your favourite tv show, reading, playing a sport, just do something that you like to do in order to just relax and de-stress in between cramming information into your brain. This will stop you from becoming to overwhelmed by everything and allow you to concentrate better when you do need to study.

2. Review your notes a couple of hours before bed
The reason why I suggest this, is because it’s while your sleeping that your brain stores stuff in your long term memory. So if you review all your notes and such a couple of hours before bed, your brain will store it in there while your sleeping, and you will actually remember it better in the morning. I have personally tried this in the past for exams and I can personally say it does actually work, so you should definitely try it out.

3. H.I.T Study
My good friend, came up with this idea a couple of days ago when a few of my friends in our little squad, had a lack of motivation to study. And it all boils down to these 7 steps, which I tried today when I just didn’t feel like studying and it really did allow me to get some stuff done:

A – Pray for Concentration 

B – Get a water bottle (preferably with a straw)

C – chew gum

D – set a 1 hr timer

E – dive in for an hour

F – stop once the timer goes off

G – take a break, then start again

It’s as simple as that. 1 hour on studying, with maybe a half and hour break off, then start again.

4. Use and rely on all your resources 
This means that if your teacher has practice tests for all the units, or a practice exam, or has assigned text book questions, or your text book has a self-quiz, USE IT. If you and all your friends all have the same course, start a group chat on your devices so you can text each other for help/ questions about what your studying when you need it. (I have one with my friends and other people in my physics class this semester and it is awesome) Ask teachers, parents, or siblings for help when you need it. If you got it, use it to your advantage.

5. Get your sleep!!
This kinda relates to the second tip, but getting enough rest is crucial when it comes to exams, especially the night before you have to write exam. We all need at least 8-10 hours of sleep every night, so plan your studying schedule around that so your body can get the proper rest it needs so you feel refreshed, awake, alert and ready to dive back into it in the morrning.

6. Work on a Schedule
I mentioned this tip last year when I did exam studying tips, but it really is super important to make a studying schedule to make sure you are ready in time for exams, you study everything, you are organized and you don’t get overwhelmed by all you need to review. I highly recommend doing this, and I know you won’t regret it. Here is a picture of mine from this year to give you an idea of what I’m talking about: 

  

  

That’s all for today, folks!! Thanks for reading and let me know in the comments which one of the tips I mentioned was the one you liked the most, which ones you plan on trying (and how they work out for you) as well as any other studying tips you might have for the ever stressful exam time. Thanks again!!

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life.

Leave a Reply

