My First Semester Exams Experience

Hey Everybody! Long time no see! I have been very busy (and lazy) these past few weeks so I apologize for the lack of postage. This has mainly been due to exams and all the studying and work I had to do associated with that the past month. So I figured as I hadn’t done a life post in awhile, it would be cool to update you guys on my life and tell you all about the craziness that has ensued this past little while. 

So, this past semester I had 3 exams: french, physics and chemistry. And as soon as christmas break was over, I immediately creating my exam studying schedule (as you would know if you read my exam life tips post, which you can check out here). The exam that I was most stressed out about was physics. This was because physics, in case you have never taken it before, is VERY difficult and hard to wrap your head around (at least for me it was). This was also because the exam was worth 25% of my final mark. So the stress was real. On top of that having chemistry and french, wasn’t too bad. Chemistry had been my strong suit all year, as I understand that very well and french is a very simple exam that you can’t really study for so they weren’t as much of a concern but still figured quite a bit of my time and energy. 

My first exam was french. As I said before the french exam is something you can’t really study for, so I spent a large amount of time that night just watching french news from france which by the way, is very hard to understand at times. And there was alot more going on in France than I thought there would be. Going into the exam I felt confident. We had two videos to listen to, then answer questions about and the first one was quite hard to understand but the second one was alot easier. Overall, it took me like an hour and a half and I left the class quietly, then with the door firmly shut behind me shouted “WOO HOO IM DONE”. Which was quite embarrassing looking back at it considering there was other people in the hall and other classes doing exams. 😬

My second exam was (sigh) physics. I went home and immediately started studying for this, going over all my keynote presentations that I had made throughout the year with all my notes on it for each unit. I even did a practice exam my teacher had posted on the website. I compared my answers with my friends and had got pretty well all the same answers as them, so I felt sorta confident, but I was hesitant to be confident because this is physics, and you never really know. But after this, i did my little cheat sheet he allowed us to have for our exam and went to bed. The next day, I walked into the class, sat down, saw everyone with their ipads on the ti nspire app (my school uses ipads in all our classes), looked down at my ipad-less desk, then litterally shouted in the middle of the class with my classmates all around me “OH MY GOSH. I FORGOT MY IPAD” At this point everyone was staring at me, some with dropped jaws, and me, about to have a full blown panic attack because I can’t do this without my ipad. Thankfully the teacher who was in the class with us told me not to worry because she had brought a calculator πŸ™πŸΌπŸ™ŒπŸΌ. So i did the exam, and left feeling pretty good, and this time silently got down on my knees and raised my arms triumphantly to the air silently saying, YES YES YES IM DONE, after leaving the class. 

My final exam was chemistry and as It was my last I had zero motivation to do any studying or work anymore. So, I did not do much studying the night before chemistry and just kinda reviewed everything once before heading to bed. Before heading out the door the next morning, I double checked I had my iPad (as I needed my calculator app again) and walked to school. Despite my lack of motivation to study, it was pretty good and I felt pretty confident at the end of the 2 hour exam time. I ended up actually getting my physics exam mark from my teacher after the Chem exam, and didn’t do as well as I thought. I was kinda disappointed but what can you do? At the end of the day I was just glad to be done.

After exams there was a lot of junk food eating, relaxing, sleeping and a whole lot of doing nothing. I have functions (math), world religions (in french as I am in french immersion), biology, and grade 12 french which means FOUR exams this term which I am super excited about and will definitely write about when the time comes. 

I hope you enjoyed this lengthy ( I apologize) post and I hope your February/ new semester has been good wherever you are! Let me know in the comments below if you have any funny exam stories and please share because I’d love to hear about them and your experiences with exams! Thanks for reading!!!

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of life.

Leave a Reply

